“I resign,” Uddhav Thackeray resigns as Maharashtra CM soon after Supreme court cleared the way for a floor test  

Soon after the Supreme Court cleared the way for a floor test in the Assembly on Thursday, Uddhav Thackeray announced his resignation as chief minister of Maharashtra on Wednesday.

Speaking virtually to the state, Thackeray announced his resignation from the Legislative Council as well. Heads are counted in a democracy to demonstrate numbers. That doesn’t interest me. They would claim that they have deposed Shiv Sena leader Balasaheb Thackeray’s son tomorrow, he said.

Sharad Pawar, the head of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and Sonia Gandhi, the leader of the Congress, were congratulated by Thackeray for standing behind the Shiv Sena.

“When a decision was made to rename Aurangabad, neither the NCP nor the Congress objected. But the fact that only four Shiv Sena ministers were present makes me feel horrible. Others, we are all aware of their whereabouts.”

Addressing MLAs whose rebellion, led by Eknath Shinde triggered the currnt crisis for his government, Thackeray said.,”Who are you angry with me? Congress or NCP? Rather than going to Surat and speaking up you should have come to me at Matoshree. I still respect your feelings.”

In the most recent development in the Eknath Shinde-led revolt against Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari had asked for a test of strength in the state assembly on Thursday. About the same, the Supreme Court ruled that a floor test is the only method to resolve all of the issues that have complicated Maharashtra politics.

After hearing arguments on a case filed by the Maharashtra government contesting governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari’s order for the chief minister to demonstrate his majority on the Assembly floor, the top court issued its decision.

Shiv Sena, Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and Congress administration are on the verge of dissolving as a result of Eknath Shinde’s support for roughly 40 (out of 55) Sena MLAs.