IPL 2020: BCCI finalizes commentary panel, 7 Indians included

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has reported that it has finalized the commentary panel for IPL 2020.

As per a Mumbai Mirror report, the list includes the names of former India captains Sunil Gavaskar and Anjum Chopra, and some other names like Harsha Bhogle, Deep Dasgupta, Rohan Gavaskar, Murali Kartik and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan. All the commentators will be travelling to UAE and will commentate from the ground.

Manjrekar’s exclusion was unexpected as he wrote to BCCI twice to reinstate him in the commentary panel for the T20 league. Manjrekar first came under the scanner after he called Ravindra Jadeja a ‘bits and pieces’ player during World Cup. He justified his statement by saying that he used the term in an interview to an agency and not on the air.

Manjrekar was sacked from BCCI’s ODI commentary panel in a match against South Africa. He verified his absence back then, writing: “I have always considered commentary as a great privilege, but never an entitlement. It is up to my employers whether they choose to have me or not & I will always respect that. Maybe BCCI has not been happy with my performance of late. I accept that as a professional.”