J&K : Modi government to pass a bill to make Urdu and Kashmiri as Official language

The Modi government has decided to bring a bill in the Parliament in order to make Urdu, Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi and English as the official language of Jammu and Kashmir.

The bill which already received the assent of the Union Cabinet during a meeting held today. Centre seeks to change the recognition of Urdu as the soul and sole language of the Jammu and Kashmir.

As of now presently, Urdu and Kashmiri are the regional languages of Jammu and Kashmir.

Union Minister Prakash Javadekar said, “Union Cabinet has approved the introduction in Parliament the Jammu & Kashmir Official Languages Bill 2020 in which 5 languages Urdu, Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi & English will be official languages.”

It has been based on public demand. Javadekar didn’t share more details about the bill.

Jammu and Kashmir was removed of its statehood and bifurcated it into two Union territories in August 2019.

The centre delivered new domicile rules notified in Jammu and Kashmir. People belonging to West Pakistan, Valmikis, women marrying outside communities, non-registered Kashmiri migrants and displaced people will get domicile. In Ladakh it is already on cards.

The bill is expected to be in Paraliament during the coming session. The Monsoon session will begin on September 14.