Nirmala Sitharaman to Chair the 41st GST Council Meeting Today

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will be chairing the 41st Goods and Services Tax (GST) Council meeting on Thursday through a video conference.

Nirmala Sitharaman, Image Source: World Finance

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 11 am. It will be attended by Minister of State (MoS) for Finance Anurag Thakur, Finance Ministers of States and Union Territories (UT) and senior officers from all the Union Government and states.

“Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will chair the 41st GST Council
meeting via video conferencing at 11 am in New Delhi today. The meeting will be attended by MOS Anurag Thakur along with Finance Ministers of States and UTs and Senior officers from the Union Government and States,” the Ministry of Finance tweeted.


In the previous meeting held on June 12, the GST Council voted to waive off fees for late filing returns between July 2017 to January this year to reduce the force of COVID-19 crisis on micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

This Wednesday, Congress interim President Sonia Gandhi carried out a meeting with the CMs of Congress-ruled states and their counterparts of West Bengal, Maharashtra and Jharkhand. The issues related to GST dues of states were discussed in the virtual meeting. Sonia Gandhi criticized Modi government’s unwillingness to pay GST compensation to the states and said that this is nothing but betrayal from the government’s end.